Back Contact us

Omaheke elects new Swapo leadership

GOBABIS, 12 SEP (NAMPA) - Former Epukiro Constituency Councillor, Ruth Kaukuata-Mbura was on Monday elected as new Swapo Party Regional Coordinator for Omaheke Region.
Kaukuata-Mbura takes over the reins from Kejamuina Mungendje, who served in that position since 2012.
Veteran party member in the region, Elliot Hiskia was elected as Treasurer, taking over from Gobabis Constituency Councillor Phillipus Katamelo who had served in the position.
Members elected to represent the region at the party's central committee level are; Festus Ueitele, Phillipus Katamelo, Christine Hoebes and Silvia Makgone.
Former Swapo Party Youth League (SPYL) Regional Secretary, Eben Handura will now serve the party in the regional information and mobilisation portfolio.
The region held its elective conference on Monday, following a re-run of elections at the Otjombinde, Aminuis, and Otjinene districts resulting from complaints by party members of irregularities in the initial district conferences held between June and July this year.
A team of top-seated Swapo party leaders visited the region shortly after the disputed initial district conferences to verify the outcome of such results, and found that the elections for portfolios were not properly conducted.
As such, all previous election results in the three districts were nullified and new elective conferences were ordered by the Swapo party politburo.
The results of conferences in the region’s other districts; Kalahari, Epukiro and Gobabis were accepted as no irregularities were observed.
While the elections in the Okorukambe district were also accepted, the elections of the regional conference delegates was only done on Saturday.
The ‘verification’ team included former Speaker of the National Assembly Theo-Ben Gurirab, erstwhile Deputy Prime Ministers Libertine Amathila and Marco Hausiku as well as Education, Arts and Culture Minister Katrina Hanse-Himarwa.
Swapo party regional districts in Omaheke are divided according to the country's political constituencies and they are Aminuis, Otjinene, Otjombinde, Okorukambe, Epukiro, Kalahari and Gobabis.
Each district has several branches and sections that make up its district leadership.

© 2015 NAMPA. All rights reserved